Paean (for Concert Band)

Our Price: $95.00 USD
Availability: In Stock
        to United States Addresses Only
Shipping: Within 24 Hours
        (via USPS Media Mail)

Publication #: SSP-20552

(for Concert Band)

Listen to MP3:

View score:
Paean (for Concert Band)


"Paean" by Mark Wolfram is an original composition for concert band.

This paean refers not to the Greek healer of the gods, Paeon, but rather to the musical form paean: a hymn of thanksgiving. Early paeans were sung in preparation for and after battles. Greek warriors sang paeans to muster their courage and resolve as they prepared for battle - and afterward to celebrate their victories.

Musically, the paean was originally a choral ode which had an antiphonal character - a call and response in which a leader sang in a monodic style, and the chorus responded with a simple phrase. Later in its development, the paean was an entirely choral form. Paean is now usually used to mean an expression of praise or exultation.

In this Paean, a brief introduction leads to a melodic solo trumpet motif which is answered by woodwind responses. As the tempo increases a series of solo woodwind passages embellish the melodic fragments until a chorale of the original low instruments motif (from the introduction) is answered by a chorus of woodwinds - all with a rhythmic underpinning of muted trumpets, marimba and shaker. The original trumpet theme returns in the woodwinds and evolves into a brass chorale - and then a clarinet chorale with low woodwind accompaniment. After a section of development, a softly played brass chorus returns as woodwinds punctuate behind and lead to further phrases of the brass chorus - growing in intensity until a penultimate series of chords answered by timpani. As the woodwinds come to the fore with their punctuations, the first motif of the original trumpet solo is woven into a chorale growing in intensity - until the final triumphant chord!

"Paean" (for Concert Band) is a GRADE 5 composition which features rhapsodic ensemble playing and step-out solos in the flute, oboe, bassoon, clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone and trumpet. The work has a duration of approximately 6:45.

A complete set of full-sized parts and a bound, transposed full score are included. Available only through this website from Sound Studio Publications. The instrumentation/parts distribution for each set is as follows:

4 - Flute 1
4 - Flute 2
1 - Piccolo
1 - Oboe 1
1 - Oboe 2
1 - English Horn
1 - Bassoon 1
1 - Bassoon 2
1 - Contrabassoon
1 - E-flat Clarinet
4 - B-flat Clarinet 1
4 - B-flat Clarinet 2
4 - B-flat Clarinet 3
2 - B-flat Bass Clarinet

1 - E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
1 - B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
2 - E-flat Alto Saxophone 1
2 - E-flat Alto Saxophone 2
1 - B-flat Tenor Saxophone
1 - E-flat Baritone Saxophone
3 - B-flat Trumpet 1
3 - B-flat Trumpet 2
3 - B-flat Trumpet 3
1 - French Horn in F 1
1 - French Horn in F 2
1 - French Horn in F 3
1 - French Horn in F 4

2 - Trombone 1
2 - Trombone 2
2 - Bass Trombone
2 - Euphoniums T.C.
2 - Euphoniums B.C.
4 - Tubas
1 - String Bass
1 - Timpani
2 - Mallets 1 (Vibraphone & Orchestra Bells
2 - Mallets 2 (Marimba & Tubular Chimes)
1 - Percussion 1 (Snare Drum)
1 - Percussion 2 (Bass Drum)
2 - Percussion 3 (Suspended Cymbal, Piatti

& Small Egg Shaker

Please email us if you have any trouble with online ordering.
If additional single parts are needed, they are available for $1.00 each and only when you purchase of a full set.

To order using check or money order CLICK HERE for printable order form.